CSA Committee

CSA Governance & Committees

Advisory Committee
David Gaba MD
Steve Howard MD
Lou Halamek MD
Brad Stockert PT
Judee Berg MS, RN. FACHE
Carolyn Orlowski MS, RN
Louise Bailey MEd, RN
Connie Lopez MS, RN

Participating in the science of simulation and showing how simulation makes a difference is a critical component in the success of simulation programs. A research committee comprised of multiple stakeholders from around the state has been de-veloped to track all research studies in the state and move into inter-organizational and inter-disciplinary research to contribute to the science. The committee also leads the bi-annual simulation survey process.

Research Committee Co-Chairs:
Mary Ann Shinnick, PhD, RN, UCLA School of Nursing, mshinnic@sonnet.ucla.edu
Marie Gilbert, DNP, MA, RN, CHSE, Cal State Fresno, mgilbert@csufresno.edu

Committee Member One-on-one consultation (design/data collection) Narrowing of a research topic IRB approval or clarification of need for IRB approval Developing a study design or protocol Stats Analysis Question Presenting findings of research/data collection Institution/ Location in Calif. Contact Information
Northern California
Colleen O’Leary-Kelly X X X X San Jose State colleen.oleary-kelley@sjsu.edu
Jo Loomis X Univ SF jaloomis2@usfca.edu
KT Waxman X USF/CINHC Kt@cinhc.org
Parvati Dev X X Clinicspace-Los Altos parvati@clinispace.com
Central California
Marie Gilbert X X X X X X CSU Fresno mgilbert@csufresno.edu
Tiana Gray X TianaRN1@gmail.com
Southern California
Mary Ann Shinnick X X X X X X UCLA mshinnic@sonnet.ucla.edu
Christopher Kahle X
(Focus group, spatial analysis, archival research, Media analysis)
X Mt. St. Mary’s ckahle@msmc.la.edu
Elizabeth Vega X X X X Concordia University, Irvine elizabeth.vega@cui.edu
Regina Rico X
(Qualitative Phenomenological, Case Study)
West Coast Univ rrico@westcoastuniversity.edu
Scenario Development Committee
A key element of successful simulation is scenario development. Leveraging the work of the Bay Area Simulation Col-laborative (BASC), the process for scenario development will be shared with others in the state, and a framework has been es-tablished to engage faculty in scenario development. Templates can be found on the website for writing scenarios, validating and testing.
Scenario Development Committee Chair:
Marjorie Miller, MA, RN, CHSE, Adjunct faculty, University of San Francisco, mmiller@nurse-edconsulting.com
Scholarly Writing Committee:
Scholarly Writing Committee Chair:
Leslie Catron MSN, RN, Faculty & Simulation Coordinator, West Hills College, lesliecatron@whccd.edu
Lu Sweeney MSN, RN
The technology committee serves individuals responsible for the daily operations, maintenance and troubleshooting of the extensive and ever-changing simulation equipment. It does so by providing opportunities for continuing education and professional networking, both regionally and throughout the state.
Technology Committee Co-chairs:
Becky Damazo, Rural Northern California Clinical Simulation Center, bdamazo@chico.edu
Teri Lind, San Jose State University, teri.lind@gmail.com
Sim Tech Commitee:
Kam McCowan, Simulationist, kam@medsimkam.com


Policy/Procedures Committee Chair:  

Position open, contact KT if you are interested at kt@healthimpact.org